• ENGSO Youth

Year of changes | Youth Assembly 2020 report

On Saturday, 14 November 2020, ENGSO Youth hosted its first-ever virtual, and its 17th edition of the Youth Assembly.

ENGSO Youth Committee members - Ugne Chmeliauskaite, Filip Filipic, Ivana Pranjic, Lovisa Broms, Marianna Cardoso, Iva Glibo, Titouan Martin Barre and Kirsten Hasenpusch, Young Delegates and ENGSO/ENGSO Youth members, partners and friends gathered online to present and discuss the 2019-2020 development and set the agenda for the upcoming year.

The Assembly began with welcome remarks from ENGSO Youth Chair Ugne Chmeliauskaite and ENGSO Secretary General Sara Massini who highlighted the changes that took place throughout 2019-2020; new secretariat, new team and committee members and going digital to the pandemic.

The welcome session was followed by the adoption of 2019 narrative and financial report and updated standing orders.

Committee members presented the work and achievement of ENGSO youth working groups; social inclusion, sustainable development, education and employability, health and sport diplomacy.

See the full presentation (click here)

Session one included the election of a new committee member Anett Fodor who was nominated by the Hungarian Competitive Sport Federation and elected by Youth Assembly to the current mandate of 2019-2021. We also welcomed Matej Manevski who became our new Policy and Projects manager.

Let’s take this opportunity to thank our former committee member Erika Juhász and former policy and projects manager, and also committee member, Bence Garamvolgyi for their essential contribution to the development of ENGSO Youth.

The first part of the Youth Assembly was concluded with a presentation of finances by our treasurer Kirsten Hasenpusch and ENGSO Youth strategy 2020-2023 presentation by our vice-chair Filip Filipic.

The second part of the session, titled »Continuing Youth Leadership«, was moderated by our committee member Iva Glibo and included special guests: Caroline Baxter Tresise, International Consultant, Youth and Sport at UNESCO, Ishita Godinho (India), Jen Macapagal (Singapur) and Milton Angat Kisapai (Papua New Guinea) who presented the Youth and Sport Task Force of UNESCO and their main local activities.

Afridan Amu, a professional surfer, and lecturer in Design Thinking at the Hasso Plattner Institute joined us for the second part of the and introduced us to his career development, background and current work in the field of Design Thinking Methods.


We would like to thank everyone who participated in the Assembly and have been following us throughout 2019-2020. The way forward? Giving youth a real say in sport – together! Even though digital means.